Like the other fifty states of the US, Vermont car seat laws are in action to make sure that any child riding in vehicles is safe and comfortable.
Children of age below 12, especially newborns and infants are fragile and do not understand the traffic rules and regulations. The parent must protect them and provide them with basic safety things such as baby car seats and seat belts etc.
If you are living in Vermont or going to visit the state with your child, you should know the following Vermont child seat laws there to avoid any difficulty.
Vermont Car Seat Laws 2022 | Child Car Seat Safety
Despite all the necessary things, traveling with your child is not easy. The kids get disturbed when treated out of their normal daily routine.
The only thing that you can do is to provide them with home comfort. However, safety should not be compromised here.
1. Vermont Car Seat Laws for Rear-Facing Child
As stated by Vermont car seat laws as well as NHTSA, AAP, and FAA for a rear-facing child:
The newborn babies and infants will ride rear-facing in the back seat of vehicles until they cross the age (2+ years), weight (30+ lbs.), and height (30+ inches) limit for reward car seats
When to upgrade from infant car seat is the major point of confusion for the parents. The best and safest-for-children decision is: to face forward them at the age of 3+ years.
The reason is that they have a fragile body; in case of a car crash, they will be protected by the solid back of car seats, and the chances of getting serious injury reduces to 96% in rear-facing car seats.
Read this article to reveal more benefits of rear-facing car seats: Rear Facing vs Forward Facing Statistics
2. Vermont Car Seat Laws for Forward-Facing Child
In the year 2019, there were 41 fatalities recorded on the roads of Vermont, which is a huge figure. The reasons will, again, be inappropriate car seat use and inadequate installation.
Therefore, having proper knowledge of car seats by age is crucial for parents and caregivers.
According to the Vermont car seat laws:
Every child at the age of 1+ years must be secured in a proper restrain system and positioned rear-facing as long as they have crossed the age (2+ years), weight (30+ lbs.), and height (25+ inches) limit for rearward car seats
Note: the parents are instructed to follow the car seat manufacturer’s guide for car seat positioning in the vehicles or read our article “when can baby face forward in car seat 2022” for further information.
3. Vermont Car Seat Laws for Booster Car Seats
There is no specific law for booster car seats in Vermont car seat laws. We will consider NHTSA’s recommendations for booster car seats and i.e.
Children of age between 4-7 years will ride forward-facing until they crossed the age, weight, and height limit for that car seat, and children of age 8-12 years can ride in booster car seats until a seat belt fits them properly
Booster Seat Requirements VT:
Booster car seats may be with or without a back. Both have different installation, restraining, age, weight, and height limitations as described below:
- Children of age under 8 will use high-back booster seats
- Children of age above 8 and below 12 will use backless booster seats
When your child reaches the height and weight limit for a booster car seat i.e. 4 ft. 9ʺ and 40-100 lbs. respectively, is time to stop using the booster car seat.
4. Vermont Seat Belt Law for Child Safety on Road
Vermont car seat laws for seat belt using child states that:
Children of age 12 years and above must be wearing a safety seat belt in moving vehicles or must be restrained in a child passenger restraining system
With each transition, the safety of the child decreases. Ideally, the age for forward-facing should be 4+ years and the seat belt age should be 12+ years.
Vermont Car Seat Rules | Child Restraining Laws
Instead of an accurate car seat installation and restraining, some other facts can pose danger to your child’s life and should be avoided while traveling with children.
1. When my child is allowed to sit in the front seat in Vermont?
Children below 4 years must ride rear-facing in the back passenger seat, and those above 4 years can sit in the front seat (with an active airbag).
If it is not necessary to install a car seat in the front seat, make sure to turn off the airbag.
PS: What is the purpose of airbags? It is installed to protect the upper body (head, neck, shoulder) of the passenger from striking the vehicle’s interior.
2. Can I leave my child in the car alone in Vermont?
There are currently no rules regarding leaving a child unattended in the car in Vermont.
However, it is completely unsafe to leave a child confined in the car seat and locked inside the vehicle, no matter how safe and comfortable their car seat is.
3. Is it illegal in Vermont to smoke in the car in the presence of a child?
Yes, it is illegal to smoke in the car in the presence of a child. The reason is the sensitivity of a child’s respiratory and immune system to cigarette smoke which contains numerous life-threatening chemicals.
4. Vermont car seat laws for Taxis and Public Transportation:
Taxis and other public transportation are exempted from Vermont car seat laws. However, public transport, including taxis, is equally susceptible to car accidents as your car would be.
Therefore, the parents are advised to take their baby’s car seat while traveling by road or by air.
5. Can you use an expired, old, or damaged car seat in Vermont?
There is no law regarding expired or old car seats in the Vermont car seat laws. However, according to the car seat laws defined by NHTSA, parents must replace their car seats after every 6 years (if or if not been in a major car crash).
6. What are the penalties for Vermont car seat law violations?
At violating the Vermont car seat laws that are mentioned above for the first time, the guilty will be charged $25. For the second time, the fine will be $50 and it will be $100 for the third time.
Child Passenger Safety & Car Seat Help Centers in Vermont
Being a Vermont resident, you can visit the following places for any kind of car seat-related guidance or help.
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Bennington Rescue Squad Car Seat Safety
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Town of Fairfax Child Safety Seat Fitting Station
- Colchester Police Department Car Seat Inspection
- City of Rutland Child Safety Seat Inspection Station
- List of Car Seat Fitting Stations in Vermont
- Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Fitting Station
- Town of Essex Car Seat Inspections
- Williston Fire Department Child Car Seat Safety Checks
- Safe Kids Vermont Inspection Stations
Videos on Child Car Seat Safety Instructions for the Vermont Parents
As recommended by the car seat manufacturers, do not rush for the transitions no matter how boring the car rides are for your child. It is because your child goes a step away from safety with every transition.
The second most important thing is the way of car seat installation and the correct restraining.
You can watch the following video that we have selected for you o be more sure about your way of installing the car sear and restraining the child.
The aim behind Vermont car seat laws is to ensure the safety of your child while on the road. Regardless of the opinion of the child, if they are below 12 years, they must have to ride in a car seat that is best suits to their age and weight.
If you cannot afford a car seat after the old one has expired, you can borrow it or trade in it in the following car seat programs.
- Walmart car seat trade in 2022
- Target car seat trade in 2022
- WIC free car seat program
- How to get a free car seat through Medicaid 2022?
What are the car seat laws in Vermont?
Infants will ride rear-facing until 2 years of age. Every child blow 8 years of age will ride fully restrained (as directed by NHTSA) in their car seats. Children above 8 years of age will ride in an approved child restraint or safety belt system.
What age can kids sit in the front seat in Vermont?
According to the Vermont car seat laws, children above the age of 1 year are allowed to sit in the front seat with an active airbag.
Does Vermont have a seat belt law?
In Vermont State, the seat belt laws are not very strict. However, all the drivers and adults will wear a safety seat belt and will be charged up to $100 in case of violations.
What state has the strictest car seat laws?
Two states Wyoming and Tennessee have the strictest car seat laws and children below 8 years must use booster car seats while the age limit for booster seats is 5 years in most of the other states.
What state has imprecise car seat laws?
Three of the US states including Dakota, Florida, and Arizona have the most imprecise car seat laws.
Related: Washington Car Seat Laws