Child passenger safety is the foremost priority in every state of the US, including Utah State. According to the Utah car seat laws:
“Children below the age of 2 will ride rear-facing while the kids above the age of 8 years will ride under child a restraint system”
These regulations are made compulsory for citizens to stop the number of deaths and fatal injuries to children in vehicle accidents.
Several institutions in Utah will guide you about the Utah car seat requirements in the state. We will discuss everything about the child car seat law in Utah step by step.
Child Car Seat Laws Utah 2022
The child car seats are made to keep children confined in their car seats so that they would not get injured in case of a car crash and the parents or anybody else driving the car would not get disturbed because of their movement.
Your child will use 4 types of car seats until they grow from infancy to childhood and have grown enough to start wearing a vehicle seat belt.
The first car seat that your tot will ever have will be a rear-facing car seat. Read below to know the laws and regulations regarding rear-facing car seats.
1. Current Rear Facing Car Seat Law in Utah
For a rear-facing child, Utah car seat laws state that:
“Every child from the age of 0-2 years will ride rear-facing in car seats until they have outgrown the age (2+ years), weight (30+ lbs.), and height (25+ inches) limit from that car seat”
According to the Rear Facing vs Forward Facing Statistics, a rear-facing child has:
|Car Crash Risks And Facts||Rear Facing Child||Forward Facing Child|
|Risk of severe injury||8%||40%|
|Injury reducing effect||96%||77%|
|Neck loads in a 30mph car crash||50 Kg||300 Kg|
Moreover, the rear-facing car seats are reclining i.e. they can support the head and neck of your child as they are unable to hold it by themselves.
- How soon can a newborn travel long distance by car?
- When to upgrade from infant car seat?
2. Current Forward Facing Car Seat Law in Utah
When a can baby face forward in car seat is the most frequently asked question by the parents. According to the Utah car seat laws:
“A child who is outgrowing the age (2+ years), weight (30+ lbs.), and height (30+ inches) limit for a rearward car seat is allowed to ride forward-facing in the vehicles on the back passenger seats”
With each transition from the previous car seats, safety and security would decrease. Forward-facing car seats are not as safe as rear-facing.
However, if the child is properly restrained in it, it would be better than using no car seat at all.
3. Child Booster Seat Laws in Utah 2022
In Utah State of the US, any parent must keep their child (under 8 years) restrained in booster car seats.
“Children will use booster car seats until they are below 100 lbs. or 4 ft. 9ʺ”
Utah Booster Seat Requirements in Booster Seat Laws Utah
While restraining your child in booster car seats, you must confirm the following 5 things mentioned in the Booster seat laws Utah:
- Does your child is comfortable in their car seat and sits back in it?
- Can they move and bend their knees at the edge of the car?
- The seat belt of the booster car seat should cross the shoulder or in the middle of the collarbone
- The lap belt should touch the thighs
- Does the car seat comfortable enough that your child is ready to sit for the entire ride or day, awake or asleep?
If the answer to the questions is “Yes,” be confident that your child is safely retained in their car seats.
Topics of interest:
- What is the weight limit for a booster seat?
- Most comfortable car seat for long trips
- How to make car seats more comfortable?
4. Child Seat Belt Laws in Utah
Utah seatbelt laws are for children who have outgrown the booster car seat age i.e. 12+ years.
According to the Utah car seat laws for seat belts, the parents must be sure that
- Their child passes the Seat Belt Fit Test before using it
- They are wearing the seat belt in a way described by the NHTSA
Note: sometimes, children (frustrated with the seat belt restraint system) put their seat belts under their arms or behind their back.
It is an incorrect way of wearing a seat belt, and you may be subjected to car seat law violation in this case.
Utah Car Seat Rules Other than Child Restraint Laws
Besides the inescapable car seat laws, there are a few other rules for child safety that have been made compulsory in all 50 states of the US.
1. When can a Child Sit in the Front Seat in Utah? | Utah Front Seat Law
All the children below age 12 should sit in the back seat. The rear-facing child should be restrained in a car seat in the middle of the back seat.
However, if it is, somehow impossible to install a car seat in the back of the vehicle, make sure that the airbag is not active for the front passenger seat for children below 12 years of age.
2. Penalties for Violation of Utah Car Seat Laws
The driver makes sure that all the passengers, especially children, are adequately restrained in his/her car.
In case of a car seat law violation, the guilty will be charged $45, and only a single citation will be accepted regardless of the violations.
3. Utah Car Seat Laws for Public Transportations
In the Utah car seat laws, there is no restriction for public or school buses to have seat belts for children.
However, recently, a bill by House Transportation Committee has been passed for enforcing seat belts in school buses.
4. Baby Car Seats for Obese & Special Child
For Obese babies, no negligence regarding the child restraint system would be acceptable, as stated in the Utah car seat laws.
Note: the best car seat brands offer a flexible restraint system that is flexible enough to accommodate an obese child.
For a special child, the parents must have a medical certificate clearly describing the cause of not restraining the child in car seats.
5. Can You Leave Your Child Unattended in Car in Utah?
In all the US states, including Utah, it is illegal to leave a child below 6 years in a car seat unattended.
6. Can You Use a Cell Phone while Driving in Utah?
Using a cell phone or attending to a call while driving is banned throughout the US. In case of car safety law violation, the following penalties would be enforced:
- If the cell phone didn’t cause any harm to anybody
- If cell phone use causes harm or severe injuries to others:
- Fine of $1,000
- Six months imprisonment
Car Seat Help Centers in Utah
If you are a resident of Utah or have to travel there with a child, you must know the car seat help centers situated there.
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Park City Fire District Car Seat Safety and Inspections
- Safe Kids Utah Stations
- The Unified Police Department Car Seat Inspections
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Car Seat Fitting Stations Across Utah
- Salt Lake County Car Seat Inspection and Tips
- Southwest Utah Public Health Department Car Seat Education and Installation
- Utah Safety Council Car Seat Inspection
Car Seat Installation for Parents
Visual guidance is no doubt more comprehensive and relevant. We have collected a few videos for you to take guidance related to baby car seat installation, child training systems, and the safety requirements per car seat.
- Child passenger safety rules
- How to select the right car seat for your child
- Why rear-facing is important for your child?
- Car seat installation:
Coming to the end of our discussion about Utah car seat laws 2022, we have explained all the car seat ages and stages.
The most important of all is the care that your baby needs in infancy age. Their body is fragile and has not developed completely. They need more care than a young child.
We keep posting child car seat safety-related posts on our website www.topbabyseats.com, so keep visiting our website to be updated.
What is the allowed Booster seat weight in Utah?
The minimum and maximum weight limits for booster car seats are defined by car seat manufacturers. Utah car seat laws state that the child should be in the booster car seat as long as directed by the car seat manufacturers i.e. from 40+ lbs. to 100+ lbs.
What is the allowed Booster seat age in Utah?
The minimum and maximum age limits for booster car seats are defined by car seat manufacturers. The allowed booster seat age in Utah for children is 4+ years of age, as instructed by the car seat safety technicians, while the upper age limit for children to be in the booster car seat is 8-10 years.
How old to ride in the front seat in Utah?
To ride in the front seat in Utah, the child should be above 12 years of age. However, if there is no option in the back seat, the airbag should not be active in the front seat for children of age below 12, and it should be active for children of age above 12.