Like the other 49 states of the US, the state of Oregon car seat laws is not appropriately obeyed by the citizens. The result is 57,726 car accidents in the year 2017, of which 4571 were children under 14 years of age.
The negligence toward car seat laws in Oregon is improper child car seat installation, inappropriate car seats, inadequately restrained children, not wearing a seat belt, etc. Knowing car seat laws could save those lives.
We are going to discuss Oregon car seat laws today in a step-by-step manner to make sure which car seat you should have for your child and how to restrain them in that.
State of Oregon Car Seat Laws 2022
Oregon car seat laws 2022 state that:
“All children under 12 years of age must be adequately restrained by a standard child restraint system in their car seat while traveling by road.”
The kids under 8 or 10 years are slender, and the vehicle seat belt doesn’t fit them perfectly. A loose seat belt is dangerous.
Therefore, baby car seats have been designed to provide the child with a standard restraint system that fit them perfectly and keeps them confined and safe in moving vehicles.
The car seats have some laws and rules on how to use them. NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) and AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) defined these laws by age of children, and these may vary from state to state.
Let’s discuss the car seat laws in Oregon for children of all ages below 12.
1. Oregon Car Seat Laws for Rear-Facing Children
Rear-facing car seats would be the first seats that your child will ever use. You must know the Oregon car seat laws for this car seat:
“A child under 2 years will remain in a rear-facing car seat until they have crossed the age, weight, and height limit for that car seat.”
A car seat weight chart would help you to find the rear-facing car seat requirements.
Rear-facing car seats are logically positioned rearward so that in a car crash, the fragile bodies of infants would be shielded by the solid frame of the car seat, which will be towards the front of vehicles.
2. Oregon Car Seat Laws for Forward-Facing Children
Oregon car seat laws for forward-facing car seats state that:
“When a child crossed the age (2+ years), weight (30+ lbs., and height (25
+ inches) the limit for rear-facing car seats, they are allowed to sit and ride in the forward-facing car seats.”
Rear facing vs forward facing statistics showed that children riding in rear-facing car seats are less likely to receive fatal injuries in car crashes.
|Car Crash Possible Risks||Rear-Facing Car Seats||Forward-Facing Car Seat|
|Risk of severe injuries||8%||40%|
|Injury reducing effect||96%||77%|
|Neck load in 30mph crash||50 kg||300 kg|
Keeping in view the above statistics, the parents are advised to extend the rear-facing car seat limit until at least 4 years.
Related -> When can baby face forward in a car seat in 2022?
3. Oregon Child Booster Seat Laws 2022
Booster car seats are the third car seat that your child will use at the age of 4+ years. Oregon child booster seat laws state that:
“Every child above the upper age (6+ years), weight (60+ lbs.), and height (35+ inches) limit for forward-facing car seat would be adequately restrained in the booster car seats until they have grown enough to wear a seat belt.”
Oregon state car seat laws for booster car seats also specify the period to stop using a booster seat, and that is:
- Age: 12+ years
- Weight: 120+ lbs.
- Height: 4ft. 9ʺ
Booster car seats are of 2 types: high-back booster and backless booster car seats. Both have different requirements, and that may also vary with Car Seat Brands.
Click here -> “What is the weight limit for a booster seat,” to check out the requirements.
4. Oregon Seat Belt Law 2022
As defined by the Oregon car seat laws:
“When a child outgrows the age of booster car seat and the vehicle seat belt, it’s them perfectly; they are allowed to wear it.”
Under NHTSA child safety laws, the safest age for upgrading from a booster car seat is 12+ years. There are certain instructions to be confident that you are wearing your seat belt accurately:
- Position the lap belt across the hips and not the stomach
- Never rest the shoulder belt under the arm or/and behind the back
State of Oregon Car Seat Rules
Besides following the correct ways of installing the car seat and restraining the child in it, the parents must know some other car seat laws that could endanger the life of their child if ignored.
1. What is the accurate Oregon law booster seat age?
The accurate lower Oregon law booster seat age is “6-8 years,” and the upper age limit is “12 years”.
The lower limit is for the high-back booster seats, while the upper limit is for backless booster seats.
It means that your child is allowed to sit in the booster car seat right after crossing the age limit for a forward-facing car seat.
2. Can you smoke in the car under Oregon child car seat laws?
Under Oregon car seat laws, it is illegal to smoke in vehicles in the presence of children (under age 18).
The reason is that cigarette smoke is highly injurious to health, especially for children, who are more sensitive compared to adults. It may cause permanent respiratory problems in them, as long-term exposure may lead to cancer.
3. Can you leave a child unattended in Oregon?
Leaving a child in the car unattended is not mentioned in the Oregon car seat laws.
The parents are advised to leave their children under 6 years alone in the car while restrained in their car seats.
In some states of the US, it is illegal, and the parents have to pay heavy fines when violating the laws.
4. Is it illegal to use an expired car seat in Oregon?
There is no specific statement defining the illegality of using an expired car seat.
However, parents should be aware of the disadvantages of using an expired car seat.
Read more about car seat expiration:
5. When can a baby sit in the front seat in Oregon?
There is no legislation regarding the accurate age and weight for a child to be allowed to sit in the front passenger seat under Oregon car seat laws.
However, NHTSA cleared that a child under 13 years is not allowed to sit in the front seat. Make sure that the airbag is active when a 13-year-old child sits in the front seat.
Note: if you do not have any option for a child under 13 years other than the front seat, make sure that the airbag is turned off.
6. What are the Oregon car seat laws for rented vehicles, including Taxis?
Oregon car seat laws exempted rented vehicles, including taxis. However, it doesn’t mean that you should not use your baby’s car seat while riding the axis.
The reason is that public transportation is equally susceptible to car accidents as your car would be. Therefore, you should make sure that your child is safe in whatever vehicle they are sitting in.
Child Safety & Car Seat Help Centers in Oregon
Baby car seats need guidance on how to be installed, be used, and how restrain your child in them.
The guidance is more important for new parents, so we have filtered the helping institutions situated in Oregon state that would help you anytime you need.
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Albany Car Seat Inspections
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- Safe Kids Oregon Stations
- Brookings Police Department 541-469-3118
- Baker City Police Department 541-524-2014
- Burns City Hall 541-285-6004
- Gladstone Oregon Impact 503-899-2220
- Hermiston Umatilla Morrow Head Start 541-564-6878
- Banks Fire Department 503-324-6262
- Corvallis Fire Department 541-766-6961
- Klamath Falls Tribal Health and Family Services 541-882-1487
- Clackamas American Medical Response 503-736-3460
- Grants Pass Fire Department 541-450-6200
- John Day Families First 541-575-1006
- Coos Bay Fire Department 541-269-1191
Car Seat Guidelines for Oregon Parents
Car seat manufacturers provide complete guidance on how to use that car seat to the parents when they purchase it.
However, if the manual is not helping you, you can watch the following video that would help you in learning more about car seats.
Winding up our discussion about “Oregon car seat laws 2022”, we hope that you have picked out the points that are according to your child’s car seat age.
If you cannot afford a new car seat at every stage of your child’s car seat age, the following free car seat programs can assist you, or you can trade in your old, expired car seat there.
Whatever you choose to do, our suggestion is not to put your child’s safety in danger.