The state of Ohio has quite a similar number of deaths in car accidents as other states of the US have, and the reasons are also similar i.e. not following the Ohio car seat laws appropriately.
Children are among the most affected ones in car crashes as they are fragile and cannot bear crash injuries. To reach home safely to our loved ones, it is important to follow the Ohio baby car seat laws.
Today, we will discuss the Ohio car seat laws for all four stages & types of car seats. Let’s get started with the general car seat laws in the state.
State of Ohio Car Seat Laws 2022
Under the state of Ohio car seat laws 2022:
“The operator of a motor vehicle is responsible to make sure that every child under 12 years of age will be restrained by a standard child restraint system as recommended by the car seat manufacturers and approved by the Federal motor vehicle standards in a moving vehicle”
In case of violation of the above-mentioned car seat laws in Ohio, the victim will be fined $25.
Child restraint systems are effective in keeping them confined so that the crash forces would not harm them. The car seat laws for newborn babies and infants are stricter than for older children.
Pick up the required car seat and relevant law for your child from the following description.
1. Ohio Rear-Facing Car Seat Laws 2022
Rear-facing car seat laws in Ohio state that:
“All the newborn babies, infants, and toddlers will sit and ride rear-facing until they have crossed the age (4+ years), weight (40+ lbs.), and height (25+ inches) limit for that car seat”
NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) has defined the upper age limit for rear-facing car seats as 2 years. However, the extended rear-facing is considered the safest.
Rear facing vs forward facing statistics showed that a baby riding rearward will be less likely (96%) to be injured compared to forward-facing children.
2. Ohio Forward Facing Car Seat Laws 2022
The next car seat among the four types of car seats by age that your child will ride in is a forward-facing or convertible car seat.
Ohio car seat laws for forward-facing children state that:
“When a child outgrows the age, weight, and height limit for a rear-facing car seat is allowed to sit and ride forward-facing while restrained in a standard child restraint system”
According to the car seat weight chart, the upper and lower age, weight, and height limits for forward-facing car seats are:
|Requirements For Forward-Facing Car Seats||Lower Limits||Upper Limits|
|Age limit||2+ years||6+ years|
|Weight limit||40 lbs.||60+ lbs.|
|Height limit||25 inches||49 inches|
Related Post: When to upgrade from infant car seat?
Front facing car seat laws in Ohio support the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics.
AAP suggested that a toddler will remain in a forward-facing car seat with a proper harness system until they are allowed to use a booster car seat.
3. Ohio Booster Seat Law 2022
After crossing the age limit for forward-facing car seats, your child will be eligible for a booster car seat, and you must know what the weight limit for a booster seat is.
Ohio booster seat laws 2022 state that:
“A child above 8 years of age is allowed to sit and ride in the booster car seats when restrained by a standard child restraint system properly”
There are two types of booster car seats, and both are used to lift the child on the vehicle seat so that the seat belt will fit them perfectly.
High-back booster car seats and backless booster seats are the two types, and both have their requirements.
Booster Car Seat Requirements in Ohio:
- A child in backless booster seats must be secured with a shoulder and lap belt
- The shoulder belt will go through the middle of your child’s chest and shoulder and never near the neck
- The lap belt will snug and lies low on the child’s upper thighs
- If you have a lap belt only on the back seat, you should buy a booster car seat that has a harness and high-weight limits.
- High-back booster car seats will be used in vehicles with low-back seats or without headrests.
- Backless booster seats can be used in vehicles with high back seats or with headrests.
- Never use reclining mode while installing booster car seats without a latch system.
Related -> How to install a car seat without latch system?
4. Ohio Child Seat Belt Laws 2022
As stated in the Ohio car seat laws 2022:
“When a child outgrows the age, weight, and height requirements for a booster car seat and the vehicle seat belt fits them perfectly, will not be fined for wearing a seat belt”
Related -> Car seat ages and stages
Budget Tips for Ohio Parents
- You can have a Convertible Car Seat instead of buying two (rear-facing and forward-facing car seats). It can be used as both a rear and forward-facing car seat.
- High back booster seats that are actually combination seats are money-savers. These car seats have harnesses for smaller kids (below 8 years) and, later on, can be removed for older.
FAQs | Car Seat Rules Ohio
The majority of parents stop bothering the car seat laws after their child crosses the age of infancy as they think they have grown enough to sit and ride freely in the vehicles.
This is a misconception and becomes the reason for so many car accidents annually.
The parents are advised to follow both the car seat laws and the car seat rules (mentioned below) until at least 12 years.
1. Can I smoke in the car with a child in Ohio?
Currently, there is no statement in the Ohio car seat laws describing smoking around children as illegal.
But in many states of the US, such as Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Maine, Oregon, Utah, and Vermont, it is illegal to smoke around children.
The reason is the hazardous chemicals that cigarette smoke contains may cause respiratory problems in children.
2. Is this illegal to leave a child unattended in a car in Ohio?
You may not find any legislation about leaving a child unattended in the vehicle in Ohio car seat laws.
But, in 3 states of the US (Illinois, Maryland, and Oregon), it is illegal to leave a child under 10 unattended in a vehicle.
3. Is it illegal to use an expired car seat in Ohio?
There is no specific statement for not using an expired car seat in the Ohio car seat laws. However, an expired car seat is not safe for your child.
To read more about expired car seats, click here: Why do car seats have expiration date, and what to do with old car seats?
4. When can my child sit in the front seat in Ohio?
Under Ohio baby car seats, there is no restriction of age for sitting in the front passenger seat.
But under NHTSA and AAP recommendations:
“A child under 13 is not allowed to sit in the front passenger seat”
Note: if you do not have any option except the front seat, make sure that the airbag is turned off and the children below 4 years will sit rear-facing.
5. Ohio car seat laws for taxi and rented vehicles
Taxis and other rented vehicles are exempted from Ohio car seat laws.
But the parents are recommended not to take risks for their child’s safety and life because taxis and other vehicles are equally susceptible to car accidents as your car will be.
6. Car seat replacements after accidents in Ohio
Currently, there is no such law that defines the illegality of the use of a car seat after an accident.
However, under NHTSA and CPST’s recommendations, it is unsafe to have a car seat after an accident, no matter whether the damage is visible or not.
Car Seat Usage for Ohio Parents
If you are still confused about the baby car seat installation or use, you can take help from the following video.
Child Car Seat Safety Centers in Ohio
The below-mentioned child car seat safety help centers are operating in Ohio State and follow the Ohio baby car seat laws.
If you are a resident of the state or planning to visit there with a child, you must know the help centers there in case of an emergency.
- NHTSA car seat inspection Center
- Child Seat Inspection Stations by County
- Liberty Township Car Seat Safety Checks
- Norwich Township Child Car Seat Safety Checks
- City of Westerville Child Car Seat Inspections
- CPS Technician Search: Find a CPS Technician
- City of Hamilton Car Seat Inspection Program
- Mifflin Car Seat Inspection
- Plain Township Car Seat Inspection Program
- City of Bellbrook’s Renee Simmons
- American Automobile Association Car Seat Installation
- Butler County provides just car seat checks – contact Heather
- City of Montgomery Car Seat Inspection
- Harrison Child Car Seat Inspection
- City of Whitehall Car Seat Inspections
- The Fairfield Fire Department Child Safety Seats Program
Concluding our discussion here about the State of Ohio car seat laws, we hope that you have learned and picked out the requirements of baby car seats according to your child’s age, weight, and height.
We can understand that babies are expensive even before they are born. If you cannot afford to buy a car seat for your child, you can have the following options to get it free.
You can borrow a free car seat from the following organization:
If you have an old, expired, or damaged car seat, you can trade in it in the following car seat programs: