Like the other 49 states of the US, North Dakota also have child safety rules and regulations to make sure that people, especially children, ride safely on the roads.
North Dakota car seat laws state that:
“It compulsory for the parents and drivers to keep a child in a car seat that suits best their age, weight, and height and under a standard child restraint system as recommended by NHTSA and AAP”
Keep reading to reveal more about North Dakota child seat laws to make sure that your and your child’s safety is on road.
North Dakota Car Seat Laws 2022
North Dakota is one of the 50 states that experienced the lowest fatalities figures in the past 10 years due to the strict North Dakota car seat laws.
Despite that, the total number of road accidents in the year 2018 was 15, 242 of which 104 people died.
A research paper titled Human Factors of Highway Safety published in Elizabeth Alicandri, proves that human-centric is the major reason behind deaths on North Dakota roads.
Moreover, the research papers showed that 4% of drivers were not restrained by vehicle seat belts, 45% of accidents were due to speeding, and 32% were alcohol-related.
To keep your family safe and out of the above-mentioned figures, you must know and follow the below-detailed North Dakota car seat laws determinedly.
1. North Dakota Car Seat Laws for Rear-Facing Child
A rear-facing car seat will be the first out of 4 types of car seat that your child would ever use.
North Dakota car seat laws for rear-facing child states that:
“It is compulsory for a child below 2 years, 30 lbs. and 25 inches to sit and ride in the rear-facing car seats until they have outgrown the requirements for that car seat”
Rear Facing vs Forward Facing Statistics showed that children riding rear-facing are less likely to get severe crash injuries as the solid back of their car seat shields them and their sensitive body parts efficiently.
Convertible car seats are an economical option for parents as these seats have both rear-facing and forward-facing seating options.
2. North Dakota Car Seat Laws for Forward-Facing Child
According to the North Dakota car seat laws for the forward-facing child:
“When your child outgrows the age, weight, and height limit for rear-facing car seats, they will be allowed to sit and ride forward-facing”
When to upgrade from infant car seat is the most confusing thing for parents.
The simplest answer to resolve this confusion is provided by NHTSA and AAP i.e. after 2 years of age, above 30 lbs. of weight, and above 25 inches of height.
Note: the parents are advised to extend the rear-facing period of their child until at least 4 years.
3. North Dakota Car Seat Laws for Booster Car Seats
North Dakota car seat laws for booster seats declared that:
“A child above 6 years of age is allowed to sit in a booster car seat when restrained in a standard child restraint system”
Booster car seats are of two types: high-back and backless booster seats. Both have different age, weight, and height requirements, as detailed below:
|Car Seat Requirements||High-Back Booster Car Seat||Backless Booster Car Seat|
|Age limit||4-8+ years||10-12 years|
|Weight limit||40-110 lbs.||05-100 lbs.|
|Height limit||38-57ʺ||57ʺ and above|
4. North Dakota Seat Belt Laws
North Dakota seat belt laws state that:
“When a child crossed the age, weight, and height requirements for booster car seat and when the vehicle seat belt fits them perfectly, they are officially allowed to use it”
Not all kids are the same and have the same development and learning capabilities.
Therefore, before shifting them to the vehicle seat belt, make sure that it fits them snugly and that they are comfortable in it.
Related -> How to make car seats more comfortable?
Comprehensive Video for North Dakota Parents
All the best car seat brands have started a trend of making a video of each of their new model so that their customers will not have to worry about car seat use and installation complexities.
We have some good and comprehensive video for baby car seat installation and harnesses.
Besides knowing and following the North Dakota car seat laws properly, installing the car seat accurately, and harnessing your child in it correctly, certain mistakes could lead to your child’s life in danger.
To avoid these mistakes, you need to know the following North Dakota car seat rules when traveling with a child.
1. Can I smoke in the car with a child in North Dakota?
Under North Dakota car seat laws:
“It is illegal to smoke in the car in the presence of a child under 9 years, and the traffic officer has the right to pull over anyone they see violating the child safety laws”
Upon car seat violation, the guilty will be charged a 25 fine. It is because cigarette smoke is highly hazardous for children.
They are sensitive to the chemicals by which it is made, and long-term passive smoking would cause serious respiratory and cancerous diseases in them.
2. Is this illegal to leave a child unattended in a car in North Dakota?
Although there is no certain law in the North Dakota car seat laws defining the illegality of leaving a child unattended in the car.
However, several incidents in history prove this practice extremely unacceptable.
Children are unpredictable, and parents should never leave them alone, especially when outside.
3. Is it illegal to use an expired car seat in North Dakota?
You may not find any specific legislation defining the illegality of using an expired car seat or a car seat being in an accident under North Dakota car seat laws.
However, NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) and Child Passenger Safety Technicians describe it as unsafe to use an expired car seat.
For further reading -> Why do car seats have expiration dates?
4. When can my child sit in the front seat in North Dakota?
There is no official legislation describing the illegality of allowing your child to sit in the front seat in North Dakota.
However, as recommended by NHTSA and AAP, it is unsafe to let your child under 13 years of age sit in the front seat.
The topic of Interest -> Can dogs sit in the front seat?
5. North Dakota car seat laws for taxi and rented vehicles
Taxis and other rented vehicles are exempted from North Dakota car seat laws.
However, the parents are advised to keep an additional car seat for installation in the rented vehicles. It is because taxis and other vehicles are equally susceptible to car accidents as your car will be.
6. Car Seat replacements after accidents in North Dakota
Although you will not find any legislation regarding car seat replacement after an accident.
However, NHTSA and SKGF (Safe Kids Grand Forks) define it as unsafe to use a car seat after a car accident, even if you do not find any visible damage symptoms on the child’s car seat.
Child Safety Help Centers in North Dakota
If you are experiencing baby car seats for the first time or traveling to North Dakota State for the first time with kids, you must know the following help centers that would help you regarding car seat emergencies.
- Traffic Safety Laws in North Dakota
- IIHS Child Safety
- Car seat safety: Avoid 9 common mistakes
- Top 5 Things to Do
- Are your kids at risk?
- Child Passenger Safety
- Why Use Rear-facing Car Seats?
- 8 Things You Didn’t Know About Your Child’s Car Seat
- Booster Seat Installation Checklist
- Premature Babies and Babies with Medical Conditions
- Why Car Seats Matter
- Surprising Dangers of Infant Car Seats
Coming to the end of our discussion about North Dakota car seat laws, we hope that you have learned about the right car seat type according to your child’s age, weight, and height.
If you cannot afford to purchase a new car seat, you can borrow a free car seat from the following child car seat programs:
If you have an old, expired, or damaged car seat, you can trade it in them to get discounts on your new purchase. Open the link to know more about car seat trading.