Under Maryland Car Seat Laws 2022, it is obligatory for parents to harness their children in the car seats properly until they are less than 12 years old.
Maryland Kids in Safety Seats (K.I.S.S) is a child passenger safety agency in Maryland working in collaboration with Health, Transportation, and Mental Hygiene departments since the 1980s.
The goal of K.I.S.S. involves:
- Educating the Maryland residents on Child Safety Laws
- Publishing literature regarding the Maryland Car Seat Lawsfor the health and safety of people
- Providing technical education about child passenger safety in Maryland state
Click “Maryland Car Seat Laws 2022 Details” to get detailed information on Maryland car seat laws.
Maryland Car Seat Laws 2022
The average of people in Maryland who use a car seat is relatively higher than in the other US states.
However, the history of child passenger accidents in Maryland is not so good. In 2016, about 12 children (less than 16 years old) were killed, and almost 303 were seriously injured in car accidents.
The cause behind all the above accidents was common i.e. wrong installation of baby car seats, broken or expired car seats, incorrectly harnessed children, etc.
We can understand that parents could never expect anything like that for their child, and that is why we are here to guide you about the general as well as child Maryland car seat laws to protect your child in their car seats.
Maryland State Car Seat Laws Requirements:
According to the Maryland car seat laws:
“Every child from birth to 7 years of age and height 4 ft. 9ʺ must be harnessed in child car seats while every child between 8-16 years of age must use vehicle seat belt (if not using car seat anymore).”
Note: as recommended by NHTSA, kids of age 12 can use booster car seats or backless boosters with adult seat belts; however, if your child exceeds the height limit for the adult seat belts, they can then start using vehicle seat belts.
1. Maryland Rear Facing Car Seat Laws 2022
Rear-facing car seats are considered and designed for infants and toddlers to keep them as safer as possible in car accidents.
According to the Maryland car seat laws :
“A child should remain rear-facing until they have crossed the age, weight, and height limit for rear-facing car seats.”
The accurate (minimum-to-maximum) age, weight, and height limits for rear-facing car seats are:
- Age limit: 0-1 year
- Weight limit: 5-30 lbs.
- Height limit: 20+ʺ
Note: rear facing vs forward-facing statistics showed that the children riding rear-facing are safer (40%) than forward facing.
“An infant car seat should be semi-reline, and the harness or shoulder straps should be at or just below the shoulders of your child”
Give your 5 minutes to our “when can baby face forward in car seat 2022” guide to know the right time to upgrade your baby’s car seat.
2. Maryland Forward Facing Car Seat Laws
In car seat laws Maryland:
“The parents can upgrade their infant’s rear-facing car seat to forward-facing when their baby gets 1 year and weighs above 20 lbs.”
The topic of “when to upgrade from an infant car seat?” is a beast of confusion for parents.
The safest time of transition is when your child is 4 years old (irrespective of the limit that car seat laws permit, it is the safest for your baby’s security).
The reason is that in case of a car crash, the baby’s body will be shielded by the solid back of the car seat, and the possibility of them remaining safe will be highest in a rear-facing position.
Topics of interest:
- Car seat crash test ratings 2022
- Most comfortable car seat for long trips
3. Booster Seat Laws in Maryland
Booster car seats are, in general, recommended for children of age 4-to-10 years old. However, the car seats law vary from state to state.
Maryland law for booster seats states that:
“Your child will remain in booster seats until they are under the following age and height limit: 8 years and 4ft.9ʺ”
4. Seatbelt Law in Maryland 2022
According to the child seatbelt law in Maryland:
“Children of age above 8 years and height above 4 ft. 9ʺ are allowed to use an adult seatbelt.”
Note: for proper restraint, make sure the shoulder belt is over the chest while the lap belt goes low over the thighs. Neither tuck the shoulder belt behind the kid’s back nor under the arm.
Maryland Car Seat Laws
Car seat laws Maryland are all infant and parent-friendly for the safety of both of them. Besides certain standards that car seats have, there are some rules defined by the states in relevance to the car seats.
The purpose of defining these rules is to avoid the mistakes that lead to the disability of the child or, sometimes, the death of children.
1. Can you leave a child in a car alone under car seat laws in Maryland?
According to the car seat law Maryland:
“Leaving a child under 8 years alone in the car is strictly prohibited, and in case of law violation, the guilty will be subjected to fine, imprisonment, and/or both”
Sometimes inside cars, it gets too cold or too hot to be bearable for the children, and they may get faint there. The parents of car seat users must know what should baby wear in car seats in winter.
Related: how to make car seats more comfortable?
2. Smoking in a car seat with a child in Maryland?
Smoking in the car with children under age 8 is strictly prohibited because of the harmful impacts of cigarette smoke.
Note: cigarette smoke can cause respiratory problems, lung infection, and cancer in case of long-term exposure.
3. How to install a car seat in Maryland?
It has been reported by the child passenger safety institutes that 51% of car seat accidents took place due to improper car seat installation.
The parents must know that:
- Infant car seats should be installed semi-reclined
Note: keep reclining till the red label on the side of the car seat should be parallel to the ground. Watch the video linked below for a further understanding of car seat installation:
- The car seat base should be adjusted by following the angle indicator on the car seat base
- The chest clip should be positioned at the armpit level
- The lower car seat slot is for newborn babies, and the upper two is for toddlers and older babies
4. Which safety seat best suits Car Seat Laws Maryland?
According to NHTSA, a car seat that best suits your child’s age, weight, and height and is designed by following the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 will be the most appropriate and safest for them.
5. When can I turn my child around to forward-facing?
The minimum age, weight, and height limit for forward-facing car seats are 2+ years, 30+ lbs., and 20+ inches.
However, as we all know, children are fragile and need extra protection and safety, so it is a safe practice for parents to delay forward facing as much as they can (at least not before 3 years of age).
6. Where to position a car seat in vehicles?
The preferred position for installing a rear as well as forward-facing car seat will be the center of the back seat. However, if you have to install more than one car seat, you can install them on the sides of the back seats.
Car seat laws in Maryland state installation of the car seat on the front passenger seat with an active airbag is not safe at any cost.
7. Maryland car seat laws for Taxis:
Maryland car seat laws exempted the Taxis from i.e. the car seat laws that are applicable to caretakers of children are not applicable to the Taxi drivers. However, it is not prohibited to use car seats in Taxis also.
Maryland Child Passenger Safety Help Centers
The Maryland residents are free to get help from the following Maryland Child Passenger Safety Help Centers in case of any emergency, guidance, or car seat awareness.
- The University Of Maryland | Department Of Health Car Seat Inspection
- Calvert County Child Seat Safety Inspection
- Mary’s County Child Safety Seat Inspection
- Fredrick County Child Safety Seat Program
- Garrett County Child Safety Seat Assistance Program
- Anne Arundel County Child Safety Seats Inspection
- Maryland State Police (Contact Info: 410-267-5800)
- Maryland car seat installation and injury prevention program
Car seat laws Maryland alone will not be enough to protect your baby from getting severe car accident injuries until or unless the parents or caregivers play their role in it.
It is the parent’s duty to choose the best car seat brand, learn how to use baby car seats properly, obey front seat laws MD, and replace their car seat after accidents or their expiry limit.