Colorado car seat laws are among the strictest in the nation. All parents should understand Colorado’s car seat laws. Following these laws can prevent fines and other penalties and keep children safer when car accidents happen.
Colorado is a state that takes child safety very seriously and has some of the most comprehensive car seat laws in the country. Colorado’s car seat and booster seat laws are designed to keep children safe and prevent injuries in a car accident.
Hence, let’s see what the Colorado car seat laws for child safety are.
Colorado Car Seat Laws
Colorado’s car seat laws reduce injuries and accidents by 82% each year. The rules are based on the premise that children should be appropriately restrained in a proper car seat for their weight, age, and height.
The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) enforces all Colorado car seat laws. In addition, the CDOT has a dedicated team of Child Passenger Safety Technicians (CPSTs) who are available to help parents and guardians understand and comply with the car seat laws.
Colorado’s car seat laws are as follows:
- All children below eight years must be accurately secured in a car seat or booster seat appropriate for their age, weight, and height.
- All children below the age of 4 must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
- All children between the ages of 4 and 8 must ride in a forward-facing car seat with a 5-point harness.
- All children more than eight years must ride in a booster seat.
Colorado also has a law that requires all passengers in a vehicle to wear a seat belt, regardless of their age. This law is known as the Colorado Seat Belt Law.
The Colorado Seat Belt Law requires all drivers and passengers in a vehicle to wear a seat belt at all times, despite their seating position. The only exception to this rule is if the passenger is under the age of 16 and is riding in the back seat of a car equipped with a lap and shoulder belt.
Colorado Car Seat Laws by Age And Weight
Colorado car seat laws are designed to keep children safe while riding in motor vehicles. All drivers must comply with these laws, which vary depending on the age and weight of the child.
Children below eight years old should be secured in a booster seat or other appropriate child car seat—this type of seat needs to rely on the child’s weight, height, and age.
Colorado Car Seat Laws For Infants And Toddlers
Children weighing less than 20lbs and under one year old must be secured appropriately in the rear-facing system in the car’s back seat.
Colorado Car Seat Laws for Ages One To Four
Children between 1 year to 4 years and weighing 20 to 40 pounds must be appropriately secured either in a forward-facing or rear‑facing child restraint system, depending upon the size and weight of the baby.
Colorado Car Seat Laws for Four to Eight-Year-Old Kids
According to booster seat laws in Colorado, children up to 8 years and weighing more than 40 pounds must be secured in booster seats in compliance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
Children Ages Eight to Fifteen Colorado Car Seat Laws
According to the manufacturer’s recommendations, children from 8 to 15 years and weight more than 60 pounds must be properly restrained in safety belts or child restraints systems. The shoulder belt should cover the chest and shoulder, and the lap belt should rest across the upper thighs.
Parents and caregivers must ensure the car seat is installed correctly and that the child is correctly secured in the seat. Failure to do so could result in serious injuries or death in the event of a crash.
Taxi Car Seat Law In Colorado
If you think of traveling to Colorado, you should know that taxis are exempt from child safety laws. This means that taxi drivers are not required to have a child in a car seat, booster seat, or other child restraint system.
However, it is always best to use some form of child restraint system when traveling in a taxi, as it can help keep your child safe in an accident.
Exemptions To The Rules
In Colorado, there are some exemptions to the car seat law. A child is exempt from having to use a car seat in the following cases:
- If they are being transported in a medical emergency
- If they are being transported in a commercial vehicle such as a school bus
- If the child is at least four years old, is less than 55 inches tall, and is being transported in a vehicle that only has a 2-point lap belt system available. In this case, the child must be appropriately restrained with just the lap belt.
These are the only three exemptions to the car seat law in Colorado. However, it is essential to note that it is still safest to have your child in a car seat even if one of these exemptions applies.
Exemptions to the car seat law are meant for exceptional circumstances and should not be used as an excuse not properly to restrain your child.
When Can My Child Legally Seat in The Front in Colorado?
Children aged one year or older and weighing more than 20 pounds can legally sit in the car front seat in Colorado. However, it is not recommended by safety experts. Instead, children should use an appropriate child restraint system in the front seat until they are at least 15 years old.
The type of child restraint system you will need depends on the age and weight of your child. Please refer to the manufacturer’s manual to choose the proper method for your child.
If your child is 15 years old, they can sit in the front seat if the car’s seat belt fits them securely.
Smoking In Car With A Child In Colorado
Smoking in a car with a child present is not against the law in Colorado. However, many people are unfamiliar with this fact and often avoid smoking in their vehicles when children are present out of fear of breaking the law.
While there is no specific law prohibiting smoking in a car with a child present, it is crucial to be aware of the potential dangers. Secondhand smoke can be extremely harmful to children, and even short-term exposure can lead to serious health problems.
If you desire to smoke in your car when a child is present, be sure to take precautions to protect them from the harmful effects of secondhand smoke.
Leaving Child In Car Law In Colorado
There is no specific law against leaving a child in a car unattended, and it is not a crime in Colorado. However, it is strongly discouraged by experts. Since 1998, seven children have died in hot cars in the state.
Penalties For Violating Colorado Car Seat Laws
If you are caught violating Colorado car seat laws, you will be subject to a Class B infraction. This means that you will incur a minimum fine of $65 and a surcharge of $6. In addition, if you are under the age of 18, you will pay more.
A second offense will cost you $130, and a third offense will cost you $195. However, Colorado will waive the fines if you can provide proof of purchasing a manufacturer-approved child safety seat or booster seat.
Therefore, it is necessary to ensure that you have the proper car seats for your child before driving in Colorado. By following the law, you can avoid costly penalties and keep your children safe.
Car Seat Replacement After Accident
If you have been in a car accident, it is essential to know that your car seats may need to be replaced. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommended replacing the seat after a moderate or severe crash.
However, if the following are all true, then you can keep your car seat after a minor crash:
- Your vehicle could have been driven away from the impact;
- The car door nearest to the car seat was not harmed;
- None of the riders in the car was injured;
- None of the vehicle’s airbags deployed in the crash; and
- There is no notable damage to the car seat.
If you are not sure whether or not your car seat needs to be replaced, you can always contact the manufacturer or a certified car seat safety technician for more information. It is better to be safe than sorry for car seat safety!
Colorado’s car seat laws are designed to keep children safe while riding in vehicles. All parents and guardians should choose the seats that fit their children’s height, weight, and age.
It is essential to read the colorado car seat requirements and instructions on using them accurately and ensure your children use them until they’re old enough and don’t need them anymore.
Don’t buy secondhand seats since you don’t know what might be wrong with them and if they will fully protect your kiddos. Contact safety technicians and instructors to help you and watch various videos to install them conveniently.
I hope the article helped you! Let me know!