Wyoming car seat laws for the safety and restraining children in car seats are as strict as in the other states of the US.
Back in 2019, it has been reported that improper car seat use caused the death of 608 children (less than 12 years), 91,000 get serious injuries, and sadly, 38% were not buckled properly.
To minimize these death figures, it is necessary for the parents to know and follow the car seat laws in Wyoming.
Wyoming Car Seat Laws 2022 Update
Wyoming car seat laws state that:
Every child under 9 years must be adequately restrained in their car seats are allowed to ride in the vehicles
The child safety restraining system must be federally-approved, and kids under 12 years of age cannot be allowed to sit in the front passenger seat.
Moreover, newborn babies need to be harnessed snuggly by following the guide provided by the car seat manufacturer.
1. Wyoming Car Seat Laws for Rear-Facing Child
Rear-facing car seat laws for infants and toddlers in Wyoming state that:
The newborn babies, infants, and toddlers must be restrained in rear-facing car seats that should be installed (preferably in the middle) on the back seat of vehicles
A child under 6 months is unable to hold their head on their own, and their spine is also under development. So a reclining car seat is an accurate option for them.
Another important thing is the snugged harness. The parents of infants should know the newborn car seat straps correct position to ensure that their baby is safe while on the road.
Moreover, the car seat should be according to your child’s age, weight, and height.
The topic of interest for the parents of newborns:
2. Wyoming Car Seat Laws for Forward Facing Child
When to upgrade from infant car seat is the most confusing thing for the parents. It is because the extended rear-facing for children below 6 is practically considered the safest.
Wyoming car seat laws for forward facing children will be the same as formulated by NHTSA (National Highway and Traffic Administration) i.e.
When your child outgrows the age, weight, and height limit for a rear-facing car seat is the right time to face forward them
In some of the states of the US, forward-facing is allowed from the age of 2 years. Every child is different in their learning and growing habits, so “when can baby face forward in car seat 2022” depends and vary from child to child.
However, forward-facing is safest when your child is at least 4 years old. Rear facing VS forward facing statistics showed that in rear-facing, the risk of getting severe injuries is 96% less compared to a forward-facing child.
3. Wyoming Booster Seat Law 2022
As the name indicates, booster car seats are used to lift the child on the seat so that they can be restrained across the strong bones of the chest and pelvis rather than the belly, and neck.
Wyoming car seat laws for booster car seats define that:
Booster car seats are recommended for children of age more than 4 years, weight above 60 lbs., and height almost 35 inches
Booster car seats are installed forward facing, and there are two types of booster car seats i.e. high back booster and backless booster seats.
Former is considered safe for the kids of age less than 8 while the backless booster is for the children of age above 8 are considered as secured.
Wyoming Child Restraint Laws for All Car Seat Ages of Your Child
Accurate restraining of a child in a car seat and the car seat in the vehicle is the key thing that a parent or car seat user must know. These restraining laws may vary from state to state.
Let’s discuss Wyoming child restraint laws one by one:
1. Car seat positing in the vehicle:
The baby car seat should preferably be installed in the center of the back seat.
If you have to install more than one car seat or you have a minivan or SUV, you can install it on the side passenger seat also.
When you have to install car seat without a latch, you can use either a seat belt or lower anchors but not both.
To make sure that the car seat has been installed safely, pinch the shoulder straps slightly. If your fingers slip off the straps, it will be an indication of a good harness.
3. Car seat harness system:
- The chest clip should be at the armpit level
Positioning the chest clip at armpit level is for the purpose of safety as it will bring the shoulder straps inwards.
- When you have to install the car seat on the front passenger seat, make sure that the airbag is not active.
For infants and toddlers,
- For a rear-facing child, a lower harness slot will be used, and the shoulder straps should be at or just below the child’s shoulders.
Similarly, for a forward-facing child, the upper two harness slots will be used, and the shoulder straps should be at or just above the child’s shoulders.
- To check whether the harness straps are tight enough or not, you can’t pinch any webbing between your fingers at your baby’s shoulder.
Wyoming Child Seat Laws to Save the Life of Your Child
After the proper car seat installation and child restraining, there are some other precautions that you should be kept in mind when riding with the child i.e. Wyoming car seat rules.
1. Wyoming car seat laws for rented vehicles:
There are not any defined certain rules for rented vehicles and Taxis under Wyoming car seat rules.
However, the baby car seat must be used even in private vehicles or on Taxis for the child’s safety.
PS: The Taxis and other vehicles are equally susceptible to being in accidents as your own car would be. Therefore, you should not skip the car seat in any case.
2. When can a child face forward in a car seat in Wyoming?
As stated in the Wyoming car seat laws:
A child is ready to face forward in car seats once they have crossed the age limit for rear-facing car seat i.e. 2 years
Related: Car seat ages and stages
3. Leaving a Child Unattended In Car | Wyoming Car Seat Laws:
There is no official statement for leaving the child unattended in the car seat under car seat laws in Wyoming.
However, either the parents or the caretakers, who are responsible for the child’s look after, will be questioned for their criminal negligence of leaving the child in the car unattended.
4. Smoking in a Car Seat with a Child in Wyoming?
According to the car seat laws
Anybody (the parents, the taxi drivers, or another passenger) traveling with children should not smoke
The reason behind inhibiting smoking is the health hazards that it causes children.
- Children (especially newborns and toddlers) are very sensitive to smoking which can cause respiratory problems in them
- Long-term exposure to cigarette smoke (which has hundreds of invisible cancerous chemicals) may induce cancer in children as their immune system is not as strong as adults
- Carbon monoxide will be accumulated in the car (even if the windows are open) due to excessive smoking and that is highly dangerous for children
5. Replacement of car seat after accident or expiration:
Under Wyoming car seat laws:
It is compulsory to replace the car seat after an accident or once the car seat has expired
Even after the damage to car seats would not be visible, it will not remain as safe as before.
The baby car seat is made of petroleum-based plastic and is biodegradable. After a certain period of time, it will start degrading and will no longer be able to protect your child in that car seat.
Wyoming Car Seat Safety Centers and Guide
The residents of Wyoming who need their car seats to be inspected can go to the places mentioned below for help:
- Safe Kids Wyoming
- Spectrum Health Injury Prevention Program
- Laramie County Fire District Car Seat Installation and Inspection
- Wyoming Car Seat Check Locations
- Campbell County Health Car Seat and Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Jackson Hole Fire Car Seat Check Ups
- Laramie Car Seat Inspection
- CPS Certification Courses as well as Car Seat Inspections across the state of Wyoming
- Rock Spring Child Passenger Safety Seat Program
Coming to the end of our discussion about Wyoming car seat laws, we hope that you have learned all the necessary baby cars eat laws that will help you if you are a Wyoming resident or are planning to visit the state.
Car seat laws in Wyoming are almost similar to the NHTSA-defined child car seat safety laws.
When properly installed and the child is correctly harnessed, they will remain safe from any serious injury to the most fragile parts of their body in car accidents.
Related: Virginia Car Seat Laws
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the Wyoming cell phone laws?
Under Wyoming cell phone laws, the attempt to send, read, or type text messages is criminalized under the law section WY Stat. § 31-5-237.
There are certain conditions in which distracted driving will not be punished however, the use of the mobile phone doesn’t come under this rule.
What are the booster seat laws in Wyoming?
According to the booster seat law in Wyoming, children under 8 years will travel restrained by the child safety restraint system. They will remain in the booster car seats until having outgrown the age (10+), weight (100+), and height (4 ft. 9ʺ) limit for it.